What looks best!

Today I got a call from my dad. He told me to act like this and that as people will think best of me if I did so. I notice that the older I get the more difficult it is for me to suppress this sensational irritating feeling inside me, but no matter what I always end up with saying “Yes dad”

So I have given it some thoughts about how this has effected me as a grown up…

Well… this has most certainly made me think of others before I act on something, like if I do this and that how will it look to other people. So is this a good or bad habit?

For me it has been both a blessing and a curse. A blessing because of a “good” reputation and a curse because “I” comes in second.

If you put yourself in second place long enough you will get frustrated! And I think that the frustrations finally got to me during last year. Living a life based on “what looks best”, is most certainly not fulfilling.

So what if people think that I am not that “great”, “polite”, “successful” or “clever”! What is the worse case of that?

6 thoughts on “What looks best!

  1. bli says:

    can totally relate to that! I grew up with my parents telling me how I projected myself was a reflection of how well they have taught me. There are days where I feel like I’ve lost part of me cause of having to be ‘perfectly’ prim and proper 24/7, but there are days where I see friends/strangers and make me incredibly thankful for being the way I am. awesome post! 😀

  2. Awesome post and I too can totally relate to it. I’m 67 and my Dad is 90 and still he lets me know when he doesn’t think I’m living up to “the way I was taught to live”. Now, fortunately, I can just smile, know he loves me, and get on with my life my way. Some of my very best life choices have been from following my heart and not worrying about what others will think. Even bad choices and regrets have often turned out to be good – if nothing else for the learning experience. We only get one go around and I would rather regret what I have done than regret the things I didn’t do and now don’t have a chance to do. I can only say “You go Girl!!!

    • ConfusedDi says:

      Hi, thanks so much for stopping by and for your nice comments and sharing of your experiences. Its very nice to hear that you have the same experiences and that we have that in common 🙂

  3. creativedifference says:

    My mother didn’t put a lot of ‘you musts’ on me as I grew older, and now refrains from telling me what to do most of the time. I don’t feel the need to agree. However, I notice that instead I have transferred the desire to please and obey to my relationship with my wife. I guess that, like Oedipus, I married my mother.

    • ConfusedDi says:

      hi, thanks for sharing your comments!
      I think that it is so interesting to see how our parents can effect on our adult life and behaviors ! But actually realizing why we behave as we do is a great gift!

Leave a Reply

